III International Conference
Computer Technology in Russia
and in the Former Soviet Union
Kazan, October 13 - 17, 2014


Dear colleagues,

Welcome to the

Third International Conference on Computer Technology in Russia and in the Former Soviet Union (SoRuCom 2014)

This historically-oriented conference is to be held according to the resolution of the Second International Conference on the History of Computers and Informatics in the Soviet Union and Russian Federation (SORUCOM-2011), successfully held in Velikiy Novgorod. The year 2014 features several anniversaries: 120th anniversary of Norbert Wiener, the originator of cybernetics; 90th anniversary of John Backus, the author of FORTRAN; and 80th anniversary of Nicklaus Wirth and of Sir C. A. R. Hoare. This is also the year of 30th anniversary of the Program Systems Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences (Pereslavl-Zalessky), and 30th anniversary of the journal «Mikroprotsessornye sredstva i sistemy», whose editor-in-chief was Academician A. Ershov. Also included in the conference topics will be dates and events of the period 2011-2013: 110th anniversary of Academician S.A. Lebedev and Corresponding Member I.S. Brook (2012), 90th anniversary of M.A. Kartsev, the creator of M-2, and 90th anniversary of Corresponding Member S.S. Lavrov (2013), among others.

Kazan, Tupolev State Technical University

Conference Topics

  • history of computers
  • history of creation of programming languages and systems
  • development of microelectronics
  • computers and education
  • computers and society
  • programming teams and organizations
  • notable events in the history of computer science and technology
  • scientific biographies
  • perspectives of computers and computer science
  • international sci-tech cooperation
  • IT and social skills
  • History and Computing


Important dates:

  • February, 1, 2014: application deadline
  • April, 15, 2014: full texts of submissions due
  • April, 30, 2014: notification of acceptance
  • October, 13-17, 2014: conference dates

Invited speakers

  • Prof. Tamara Alexandridi, Automated Control Systems Department, Moscow Automobile & Roads Institute, Russia
  • Prof. Yakov Fet, Institute of Computational Mathematics and Mathematical Geophysics SB RAS, Novosibirsk, Russia
  • Prof. Rimma Podlovchenko, Moscow State University, Russia
  • Prof. Gennagу Ryabov, corr. member of RAS, Moscow State University, Russia
  • Prof. Enn Tyugy, corr. member of Estonian Ac. Sci., Institute of Cybernetics of Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia